top of page

Oakura Boardriders Club AGM 2023

New President Rick Christiansen tucking in.

October 2023. A Big THANKS to all members for the 2022/23 season. It's the people that make our club the BEST in the country.

Some highlights from the 2022/23 Season:

  • 500+ club members

  • 170 Subsidised Surf lessons provided by Deken Waves

  • Wahine Waves kicked off in 2023

  • 3rd Place in the Boardriders Club Nationals

  • Sponsored Club Grommets to represent OBC at NZ surfing events

  • Record numbers competed in Club Champs and Club Grom Comp.

Luke Florence club president, stood down. A massive thank you to Luke for all his efforts over the 9+ years. His leadership has seen the club excel. The time, effort and commitment Luke has put into his role, has created a club that other clubs are envious of. Thank you Luke.

Luke will fill the role of Vice President to support new President Rick Christiansen. Rick a born local, son of founding member Mike Christiansen. Rick has promised to bring "The Energy" to continue the direction of OBC.

Without amazing committee members, the Job of president would be impossible. Introducing the 2023/24: Carla Russell -Treasurer, Brendon Hart - Secretary, Jeremy Curd, Rachael Hareb, Ricky Fox, Chris Faherty, Ange Lawn, Ruben Cardenas, Barney Walker, Catherine Gillespie, Sophie Fleming, Simon Deken, Colin Webber, Jono Watts and Kate Whittaker.


bottom of page