top of page


This year we held our club champs at Stent road in challenging, grunty conditions. Fantastic day with men and women ripping, some shots and results below.

More to follow:

What a summer!  Wāhine Waves, which are events to encourage women in the surf, saw attendees enjoy sunshine and super fun waves.  The intention of Wāhine Waves is also to establish the foundations and confidence for attendees, to continue with surfing themselves. 

Each session consisted of a lesson with Deken Waves, and drinks and nibbles up at the OBC club.  The stoke and the smiles of the attendees was infectious.  A lot of women were stepping well out of their comfort zones and were blown away with how well they did - happily cruising on waves!  

Thank you to our incredible volunteers who supported Ange Lawn in pulling the events together.  These OBC Wāhine ensured attendees were supported in the water and on land:

  • Brooke Lean

  • Rach Schafer

  • Ange Veric

  • Christine Egarr

  • Rach Hareb

  • Amanda Down

  • Sophie Flemming

  • Rosalind McFetridge

  • Toni Howison

  • Annabel Shaw

  • Tracey Eales

  • Kristin Curd

  • Philippa Lawn

  • Casey Fallaver

  • Skylar McFetridge

And thank you to our generous Summer 2023/2024 Sponsors who enabled the events to be free to attendees:

  1. Toi Foundation

  2. Taranaki Realty

  3. Deken Motors

  4. Craigs Investments

  5. Down to Earth Organics

  6. Mint Home Loan Finance - Mortgage Advisers

  7. The Virtue

  8. Cracker and Graze

  9. Wella Hair Professionals

  10. Vertigo

Some great results at the Year 7-8 Taranaki Schools Surfing Champs 2024 from OBC members kids! This was a hotly contested event with 16-20 kids in each division.

Well done all!


Year 7 Girls; 1st Madi Peacock - Oakura, 2nd Isla Priest - Oakura, 3rd Chloe Milestone-Webb - Oakura, 4th Coco Tapara – Oakura, 5th Cocone Hiyama - HIghlands

Year 8 Girls: 1st Lyla Termath - Oakura, 2nd Ruby Peacock - Oakura, 3rd Isla Gilchrist - SHGC, 4th Emma Creery - Highlands

Year 7 Boys: 1st Joel Beecroft - FDMC, 2nd Johnny Elsmore – Opunake Primaryy, 3rd Zac Church - Highlands, 4th Maximilian Wahlen - Oakura

Year 8 Boys: 1st London Cockerill - Highlands, 2nd Koa Gillespie - Oakura, 3rd Albie Staunstrup-Moore – Coastal, 4th Jett Hay – Highlands

bottom of page